top of page

As the world turns from 2016 to 2017

With the little bit of rain we were treated to in November here in San Diego, I found myself with a contractor on the roof of my home of 20 years to discuss what might be done to prevent further leaks in one corner of the living room ceiling. My request for a “senior discount, now that I am on the fixed income from Social Security,” led from the contractor’s misguided proclamation that “a raise in the minimum wage to $15 will reduce Social Security payments” to this deal:

I promised that in one-on-one conversations with those who may not share my political perspective or empathize with my abject fear about what Congress and the new President will do to “make things better for all Americans,” I will listen and try to understand what brought us to this juncture. In exchange, he promised that he will neither engage in nor tolerate hateful speech and actions which may occur in his presence as the result of incitement from the new government.

And in no particular order:

  • I created this website. Check back every once in a while both to see what I am up to and to tempt yourself by the treasures I am parting with (for a price) by looking through the items “Currently for Sale” on the “More” link.

  • I retired from “working for the (wo)man” at the end of 2015 ostensibly to focus on play writing and other work in the theatre. One completed play (in two versions: one 8-character drama called I Got Lost, the other a 4-character piece called Never Again - click on the "Playwright" link) has sadly proven more prophetic than initially intended. Mark my words: someone like Ben is going to reach his limits and respond with similar violent passion to bias, hatred and bullying. These plays should be produced. Who do you know who can help me accomplish that in 2017? That’s my political action response.

  • I reduced the size of the truly giant aloe in the front yard and surrounded them with pea pebbles which I hope will help isolate the weeds that need to be forcibly removed. Folks living in or visiting San Diego who miss gardening are most welcome to join me in cutting back and reshaping other areas of the succulent and flower gardens. If you can help me grow edibles like tomatoes (not herbs, because I don’t cook fancy), that would be a mitzvah (look it up).

  • If you are not yet an Airbnb or misterbandb host or guest, please contact me before signing up; I will send them your email address to connect you. I could use the referral fee and you will get a travel credit. If you already use one of these sharing sites, you can find my listings on the "More" link or here: https://airbnb.com/rooms/2908382 and www.misterbandb.com/rooms/8790. If you want a friends and family discount … it doesn’t hurt to ask. I’m also a great fan of bartering.

  • I was finally back on stage in a major role this past July, playing a straight Catholic dad (I’m really a very good actor!) in the premiere of A Gay Marriage. I loved having friends finally see me act! They were very complimentary, as were the reviews. I felt very much at home on stage and intend to do more acting, given the opportunity … or by creating opportunities for myself. I had lost touch with how much I enjoy that aspect of my life in the theatre.

  • Those of us in our 50s, 60s and 70s who “survived HIV/AIDS” are now finding ourselves dealing with heart disease, arthritis, Parkinson’s Disease, diabetes, loss of teeth and hearing, and something else … I forget. Sadly, I’m learning that some others with whom I attended high school and college have shaken off this mortal coil. Does that make spending time on Facebook a good thing or a bad one?

  • At the end of 2015, I attended the New York City premiere of Left on Purpose, Justin Schein’s brilliant documentary about his confrontational relationship with my late brother, lifelong peace activist/ music promoter/ editor/ organic gardener Mayer Vishner, and his decision to secure personal agency by ending his own life. Suicide must come out of the closet so that when there is an opportunity to change someone’s path, it is taken; and when that choice is unwavering and completed, outreach, understanding and caring for those now left behind on purpose will be more openly pursued.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page